Return to Headlines

Middle School hosts Math 24 contest

“SUMmer” is just a few days away but students in the Meyersdale Middle School spent June 1 working on “sums”, products, quotients and differences for the annual Math 24 tournament. This annual event was organized by Middle School Math teachers, Mrs. Diane Caton and Mr. Craig Tresnicky.


“Mr. Craig Tresnicky and I decided to hold the Math 24 competition this year since the students have missed out on many other events this year. It provides a fun, end of the year activity that can be enjoyed by the students,” Caton explained. “We love seeing students excel academically in a math competition.”


Math 24 is a learning game that teaches students the relationship between numbers. Students are presented with cards with four single-digit numbers. Students must add, subtract, multiply and/or divide to reach the answer and explain the process they used to reach “24.” The top four finishers in each grade level received a prize for their efforts. Grade level winners receive an additional prize. 


Mrs. Diane Caton has been working with the Math 24 program for seven years and was pleased to see the competition return to the middle school.


“Math 24 is a game that teachers' love because we want students to be fluent with their math facts. Students being fluent with their math facts allows us to teach students higher level concepts without having students being overwhelmed just trying to add or multiply. Students love it because it feeds into their competitive nature,” Tresnicky added. 


Following bouts of fierce competition, the following students were honored as their grade level champions: Hope Canfield, eighth grade; Kylee Haer, seventh grade; and Aurora Comfort, sixth grade. 


Top Math 24 winners in eighth grade included: Emily Stewart, Hope Canfield, Ryuan Sechler and Landon Wilt. Top winners in seventh grade included: Emily Broadwater, Kylee Haer, Tyler Hanson and Matthew Hainsweworth; and winners in sixth grade included: Aurora Comfort, Chalyce Miller, Sarah Hainsworth and Maddox Hoover.

6th Grade Winners

7th Grade Winners

8th Grade Winners